Environmental Health and Safety

Environmental Health and Safety

site header

Biohazards Committee

The Queen's University Biohazard Committee, on behalf of the University, will determine whether the risk assessment and risk mitigation measures are appropriate for the nature of biohazardous work in progress or proposed, accredit the facilities on an ongoing basis, assist the design of appropriate laboratories, procedures and training of personnel, and serve as an educational resource to members of the University community.

Members of the University community who are contemplating work involving the following biological materials are required to contact the University Biological Safety Officer to begin the process to obtain a Biohazard Permit for this work before such work begins:

•  Human or terrestrial animal pathogens or toxins regulated under the Canadian Biosafety Standards (2nd edition, 2015, Public Health Agency of Canada)

•  Biological material regulated by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency

•  Animal material that might contain foreign animal diseases

•  Plant pests or material that might contain such pests

•  Aquatic animal pathogens or material that might contain such pathogens

•  Tissue or fluids of human origin

•  Microorganisms and cultured cell lines regardless of the risk group to which they have been assigned

Permits must be renewed annually.

The Tri-Council Memorandum of Understanding with the University relating to biohazardous research funded by the three federal granting agencies (CIHR, NSERC, and SSHRC) requires compliance with all applicable legislation and regulations, which includes the Canadian Biosafety Standards (CBS). In addition, the University has adopted the CBS, whether or not the work is externally funded and whether or not the sponsoring agency requires such certification.

For information and assistance contact Shelagh Mirski at 77077 or email shelagh.mirski@queensu.ca

Biohazard Committee Membership

The University Biohazards Committee is composed of the following members:

The University Biohazards Committee
Name Department
Dr. Kenton Ko (Chair) Department of Biology
Dr. Shelagh Mirski (ex-officio) Department of Environmental Health & Safety
Mr. Dan Langham (ex-officio) Department of Environmental Health & Safety
Dr. Andrew Winterborn (ex-officio) Office of the University Veterinarian and University Research Service
Dr. Brendon Gurd School of Kinesiology and Health Sciences
Dr. Nancy Martin Department of Biomedical and Molecular Science
Dr. Maha Othman Department of Biomedical and Molecular Science
Dr. Xiaolong Yang Department of Pathology and Molecular Science
Dr. M. Yat Tse Department of Biomedical and Molecular Science
Ms. Irena Kolodziej-Hefford Community Member

Meeting Dates and Application Deadlines

Meeting Date Time Application Deadline (by 8 am)
September 12, 2019 (Thursday)  1-3 pm August 29, 2019 (Thursday)
October 10, 2019 (Thursday) 1-3 pm September 26, 2019 (Thursday)
November 14, 2019 (Thursday) 1-3 pm October 31, 2019 (Thursday)
December 12, 2019 (Thursday) 1-3 pm November 28, 2019 (Thursday)
February 13, 2020 (Thursday) 1-3 pm January 30, 2020 (Thursday)
March 12, 2020 (Thursday)  1-3 pm February 27, 2020 (Thursday)
April 9, 2020 (Thursday) 1-3 pm March 26, 2020 (Thursday)
May 14, 2020 (Thursday) 1-3 pm April 30, 2020 (Thursday)
June 11, 2020 (Thursday) 1-3 pm May 28, 2020 (Thursday)

Committee Terms of Reference (PDF 15 KB)